CARDS, Easter, Inspiration Challenge Cards, Paper Piercing
Comments 2

Chocolate Egg

Hello!
Today I made a card that combined two challenges, using the Inspiration Challenge from SCS, and Sharon’s blog (No Time to Stamp) challenge asking us to pierce your paper!.Chocolate EggChocolate Egg 

I do not have an oval shape cutter, so I freehanded the egg shaped card.
I used glitter gel writers to colour in some of the dots on the dp, then I added SU dazzling diamonds on top of these.
The mini egg is stamped with a chocolate chip bunny and colored with metallic pencil and glitter pens. The edge around the egg is outlined in pink glitter and blue dots. The whole egg is dipped in Stampin’ Up dazzling diamond glitter.
The Blue strip is pierced free hand for more eggcellent decoration!

TIP of the day: Paper Piercing

You do not need fancy templates to paper pierce. If you are good at doodling, draw a light pencil marked doodle where you want the piercing, then pierce holes appr. 1/8 inch to 1/4 inch apart following the marking. Erase the marking and you’re done.

If you are not good at freehand doodling you can make your own templates! All you need is some tracing paper and a fun pattern, even your swirly stamps or faux stitch style stamps would work well. Trace the pattern. Use this as your guide for piercing, by placing it on the area of the card you want to pierce. Make sure not to move the paper, and pierce through both layers at 1/8 to 1/4 inch intervals! You can use a temporary bond adhesive to keep the tracing paper from moving too.

If you think you will use the same pattern more than once, transfer your tracing paper pattern to a sturdier piece of card stock. Pierce the pattern on the card stock and presto! You have a reusable piercing template!

Hope these tips are useful! Any questions? Ask away!

Thanks for stopping by!!

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

2 Comments

  1. Cindy says

    This is so cute, Moonrise! I love your freehand egg-shape.

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

