CARDS, Colour Challenge Cards, Stampin' UP, TUTORIALS
Comments 6

Colour it pretty, simply!

Hi! Do you have some stamps that you are intimidated by? Are they laying in a drawer unused? Scared away by the seemingly enormous amount of colouring??

Then this is the post for you!!

Have a look at these, and then I’ll explain.

The Joy in Us

The Secret Garden

Secret Garden Opened Gate

I wanted to show you how you can take an image that you may normally take lots of time to watercolour or colour with inks/reinkers and brushes, and add colour to it more simply.

The card at the top started out with a piece of white card stock. Once I had decided on my colour scheme, I took a couple of complementary chalk colours and using a cotton ball, pounced, smeared and smudged randomly on the paper with a light touch. Here, I’ve used a soft teal and a sunny soft yellow. If you want a darker background just think about where you will be stamping your image and leave this area with just the soft colour and simply add more in a random pattern around this area. You will then take your image stamp and with a darker ink than your background, stamp it where you want on the already coloured paper. No need to colour in the image now. The effect is quite pretty!

You can play with colours and mix in as much or as little as you want and it will result in a watercolour like background.

The next card has two views, with a closed and open gate. The ‘hinges’ are rectangular folded card stock, one end adhered to the base of the card and the other end to the gate so it can open and close. The image of the little girl is simply coloured as well. Trust me! Chalk is so forgiving, all you need is an eraser, and an eye makeup spongetip applicator for controlled coloring, or even a Q tip. Choose your colour scheme and stamp the image on white card stock. I’ve made this card for the colour challenge at SCS, using Soft sky to stamp the image. I used only 4 colours of chalk to fill her in. Two shades of blue and two shades of lavender. I used a grey blue to rub over the ground. Use a soft touch, and fill in the colour. If you go out of the lines, just erase it lightly and blow away the residue! Go in and shade around some edges with the darker shades for definition and depth. Your done!

TIP: If you get little chalk flakes when your applying it on the paper, never try to brush it away with your finger, it will just smear. Blow it away instead!

Have fun with it! Get those stamps out of the drawer they’re hiding in and play!!

DeenaCard supplies: Stampin’ Up Summer By the Sea, chalks,

Inks: SU Basic Black, Soft Sky,

Paper: Stampin’ Up Whisper white, Basic black, Basic Grey, dp Fall flowers

This entry was posted in: CARDS, Colour Challenge Cards, Stampin' UP, TUTORIALS

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

6 Comments

  1. I LOVE YOUR CARDSAND I INTEND TRYING TO COPY THE GATE. WOW.
    WHAT TALENT YOU HAVE. JUST BOUGHT A CUTTLEBUG AND WANT SOME IDEAS. RUFF RUBY

    Like

  2. Thanks for your tutorial. Special with the cuttlebug folders it is so much easier to colour with the pastels

    Like

  3. oh my gosh deena … i love your cards.
    the first one looks amazing with your own background. i always loved this techniqe and the second is just super clever and you put a lot of work into it.
    fabulous

    Like

  4. This is such great information…and so freeing! I tend to avoid my line art stamps for exactly the reasons you state…I love to stamp, but I’m not good at colouring and I’m intimidated by large colour in stamps! Love the chalk on the first card…and your gate card is genius!!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

