Birthday Cards, CARDS, Limited Supply Challenge (SCS), Stampin' UP, TUTORIALS
Comments 6

Making your Own Designer Paper

I love using designer paper and I have quite a variety of it too. I thought I’d share a bit about the papers I like to use today.

Before I talk about some of my favourite designer papers though, I want to show you a second card that I made for the SCS challenge to use only diy dp. In other words, create our own designer paper! It may be a far cry from the papers I’m talking about below, but there is some satisfaction in knowing that I made it myself!

Hope you get some inspiration from it!

UniqueClick to Enlarge

The dp was created by first repeat stamping a canvas background randomly over white paper, so that it is angled and fading in some areas.
I then used two different Carte Postale stamps in Certainly celery and So Saffron to create a pattern of color over the canvas background.

The sentiment is from Define Your Life -Stampin’ Up!

Stamps: SU Define Your Life, Cornish Heritage Farms Canvas Bg, Carte Postale SU

Paper: Bazzill Basics green, DCWV text. blue cs.

Ink: So Saffron, Blue Bayou, Certainly Celery

Accessories: gem brad, Petite Primas, ribbon by Offray

Now for the real designer stuff! ๐Ÿ™‚

Basic Grey papers are fantastic. They are so unique and they use a wonderful variety of colors and patterns, mixing them in some very inspiring, and original ways. They are available in 12X12 sheets and collection packs and 6X6 paper pads. Check out the Mellow, Infuse, and Periphery collections and the NEW Sugared collection.

Crate paper is wonderful too. It is a very heavy card stock, and it is double sided. It is a very pretty paper; and you will find lots of floral collections and swirly soft, lovely patterns. These papers are available in 12X12 collection packs. It’s heavy weight makes it ideal for 3d paper projects. Have a look at my SLIDER BOXES to see how I’ve used this heavyweight paper. The Samantha, Kate, and Baby Bee collections are gorgeous!

DCWV papers are available in a wide variety of bold and subtle colors, different textures and a splendid variety of patterns as well. They are known for their “Stack” collections, available in 12X12, 8X8, and mat stacks in 4.5X6.5. Their Metallic stack, Far East collection and All Occasion Glitter Stacks are some of my favourites.

Stampin’ Up! makes quality medium weight papers in a variety of prints. What is wonderful about the SU papers is that they coordinate perfectly with all the inks and cardstock colours that they also have available! This makes it super easy to create a beautiful card in no time! My favourites are the Porcelain Prints, Fall Flowers and Bali Breeze collections.

I have to mention K& Company as well, because they are the parent company of many fabulous paper collections, such as Basic Grey. Amy Butler, Brenda Walton, and Elizabeth Brownd are some of their wonderful designers of not only papers, but chipboard products, embellishments, ribbons and more!

Have a wonderful Sunday!!

Deena

6 Comments

  1. Forgeous card. Must get my blog going now and show what I have. Thanks, MJ

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

