CARDS, Cornish Heritage Farms, DIY Decorative Paper
Comments 9

Clip Art coupled with DIY DP!

The SBS18 theme for this week’s challenge is COUPLES. Here’s what I came up with.

I quickly realized that I do not have any couples stamps! How sad is that?? The closest thing I could find in my stamp stash is the All in the family set. But stick people romance was not what I was looking for! So, I decided to try the ever growing in popularity…clip art for my main image. This is a first for me.
Because I did not stamp the main image i felt compelled to create my own background paper, so that I did stamp something! I was inspired by Cosmo Cricket’s Fleuriste paper and used Rose Red to to stamp the weave background on cream cs, then sponged it with Elegant Eggplant and Ruby Red. I then stamped the flourishes and the sentiment in Elegant Eggplant.

I think Romeo and Juliet were the first couple to ever capture my romantic imagination, so I thought they were perfect for a couples theme.
I also used monochromatic tones for this, for the Stamp Something challenge on Friday. I think the rich mono tones lend themselves to a bookish, vintage feel, which is what I was going for. I deliberately left off coloring parts of the main image because I felt it looked more like a colored illustration from an old book that way. I think it has a more romantic quality about it too.

Stamps: CHF Beautiful, CHF For teh Men,

Paper: Ruby Red, Going Grey, Whisper White

Ink: Rose Red, Ruby Red, Elegant Eggplant,

Accessories: clip art computer print, metallic pencils

I hope you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for stopping by!

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

9 Comments

  1. Red was the perfect choice for the couples theme!! what a detailed image! it’s colored beautifully! thanks for playing!

    Like

  2. GREAT card, love how you used the clip art. I have been using sentiments from the computer more and more on my cards (as I have limited sentiment stamps) and find they are a very good way to get what you want out of a card.

    Wonderful job!

    Like

  3. Beautiful work! The colors are very rich, great image too. I love the vintage feel. Great job with our challenge, thanks for playing along. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Deena, How r u ?? u have done a beautiful creation and lovely layout.

    Well just to drop by to say ” hello ” takecare and have a great day
    Regards.
    x

    Like

  5. Deena,

    Very lovely card for the challenge. I like how you made your own background paper. I’ve started doing it a lot more lately as well.

    I am still working on my couple’s card, but I am almost finished!

    Interesting to see you used clip art!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

