CARDS, Punches, Sketch Challenge Cards, Stampin' UP
Comments 8

Little Red Schoolhouse

Good Morning!

This card was just kickin’ my butt last night!
I wanted to use a schoolhouse…just had to use a schoolhouse for my son’s teacher thank you card. I get something in my head and just have to do it the way I see it, you know?

Well I do not have a schoolhouse stamp, nor do I have a diecut in this shape, so I decided to use my punches to create one. That was fine. Worked out well. But then I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what I was going to do with it when I was done. So, then I had this cute schoolhouse, but NO idea what comes next. I tried a few things, then a few more, changed color combos, changed papers, changed size and shape of the card! Yikes! I was driving myself crazy!
Finally I remembered that Friday Sketchers blog has a new sketch up…it worked with what I had in mind!!

I was determined to make it work!! It finally did come together and I am happy with the results. I’m just frustrated and embarrassed at how long it took me to get it together!

Is his teacher really worth all this?? Well, to my Son, she is! 🙂 But seriously, I do think teaching is an extremely difficult job and she really did teach my son a lot! I appreciate her dedication.

Supplies:
Stamps: All in the Family, Family Accessories, Solitude printaniere
Paper: old olive, Red cs, Basic Grey Mellow, white cs,
Ink: Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip,
Accessories: Staedtler fineliners, mini bell, chocolate chip ribbon, square punch, lg and small oval punch, 3/8 “circle punch, 1 1/2 “circle punch, scallop punch, mini purse punch ( for window ledge and half circle above bell)

I hope you all have a great weekend! Thanks for stopping by and I always appreciate your comments!

You are fabulous!!

This entry was posted in: CARDS, Punches, Sketch Challenge Cards, Stampin' UP

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

8 Comments

  1. Hi Deena!
    I was laughing at your story with this card. I JUST HAD a card like that (the kind that kick your butt). I spent a good 2 hours doing and redoing and then I scrapped it – spent another 2 hours reworking another card and finally got it to where it didn’t stink!!! Yours is darling! Hope the teacher liked it. I think handmade cards for teachers are the sweetest thing! Have a good rest of the weekend!

    Like

  2. Wow love this card and as I am doing a degree in teaching I value your lovely comments.
    Kes
    x

    Like

  3. hi deena,
    your card is really funny and so wonderful, the image looks great to the patterned paper … amazing card.
    hugs, bea

    Like

  4. Adorable card. I love how you have worked the schoolhouse into the card layout. The colurs are so bright and cheerful too.

    Debbie x

    Like

  5. Beautiful card! Love the Bringht colors and the sweet little image!! The school if perfect, great work with you punches. Love the real bell!! I am happy the sketch worked to make something, the school is to great to don’t make anything with it. Thanks for joining in with my first sketch ever….
    And yes, teaching is a difficult job, we must appreciate the good teachers!!

    Sorry the link code doesn’t work out!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

