Birthday Cards, CARDS, Cuttlebug, Inkadinkado, Stampin' UP, TECHNIQUE SAMPLE CARDS, TUTORIALS, watercoloring
Comments 4

Playing with Vellum (Part 1)

Hello everyone!  SCS is having their Dare to Get Dirty 2008 Challenge this week and  I’m having a blast playing!

Monday’s challenges: Laurie dared us to use vellum, and Jody dared us to use ribbon as our main inspiration, and to set the theme, and/or colors for a card!  FUN!

Here’s what I did for these challenges

Click to See the bigger picture:)

For the card above, I used a translucent vellum, stamped and clear embossed my Spring Ephemeral stamp, then used the baby wipe and re-inker technique to swirl on the color.  I loved this technique! It’s easy! If you’ve never tried it, I’ve explained how below.  Give it a whirl! Or a swirl, dab or pounce! 🙂

WHAT YOU NEED:

  1. Baby wipe
  2. re-inkers (stampin’ up re-inkers come in all the colors of their ink pads)

WHAT YOU DO:

Fold in the four sides to create a smaller square.  Drop 2-3 drops of  at least 2 different colors onto the square.  Gather up the corners to make a handle for yourself and dab, swirl, pounce away on your paper!

You can create some beautiful patterns and color combos with this technique!  For the card above, I simply swirled my wipe in circles, and in real life you can see the circular pattern much better!

HINTS:

  • Vellum WILL curl! Cardstock will too, but I found by heating slightly with my heat gun it flattened out.  I heated on both sides.  I kept a bit of curl and used it for this shabby chic look on my card.
  • Start with a larger piece of cs or vellum than you intend to use and use up your wipe.  Depending on how wet your brand of wipe is, you may get a lot of coverage, from dark to light.  You can then cut your paper to size for more than one card!
  • Use a glossy paper or vellum.  The wipe glides across the paper smoothly.
  • Try embossing an image first, or stamp your image after.  Either way you will get a lovely effect!

I’ll play a little more with vellum tomorrow, so if you’re interested come have a peek!

I made the card below for the ribbon challenge and combined it with one of Tuesday’s challenges: Christine suggested we watercolor!

I have a hard time using patterned ribbon, and I chose this one because I liked the colors. I wasn’t so sure about the pattern, but it made me think of little bird prints which led me to this sweet bird! It all came together from there.

I used my watercolor crayons and a blender brush to color my image from Stampin’ Up Fast & Fun Notes.

The background is embossed using my cuttlebug and I sanded the happy Birthday to reveal the white core of the paper to highlight the words.

TOMORROW WE’LL LOOK AT AN EMBOSSING AND REVERSE WATER COLORING TECHNIQUE!

See you then! Thanks for stopping in!

4 Comments

  1. Great tips for playing with vellum. Hope it’s ok if I link you up? And thanks so much for sharing your techniques! :O)

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

