CARDS, Inkadinkado, TECHNIQUE SAMPLE CARDS, TUTORIALS, watercoloring
Comments 12

Vellum~ Part II

O.k, let’s just pretend that it’s still Wednesday, and that I am not a day late posting this!! 🙂

I know, I know, but I had a VERY busy day and night and just could not find the time…sorry!

Did you ever try embossing vellum? I love the look of it! For the panel of my card I embossed the vellum with my cuttlebug using the Stylized flowers folder.  But what I really wanted to show you is how I applied some color to it.

Once the paper was embossed and cut to the size I wanted for my card, I flipped it over and water colored the reverse side.  It looks kinda bright on this side, but have a look at it again when it’s flipped back around.  I love the soft effect of it!

I used water color crayons and applied it directly to the vellum around the edges of the debossed areas I wanted colored.  Then I blended from the outer edges, inward with my blender pen.  I think the blender pen works wonderfully, without getting the vellum really wet.  So it did dry very quickly, which can be an issue with vellum.  Sometimes the drying time takes a while.  I did try the same thing with my aqua markers (Letraset) and had great results too.  I even blended with the aqua brush pen without getting the vellum too wet.

Here’s the result with the water color crayons…

The colors soften a lot right?  They almost look pasted colored, as though I used chalk.  But this color won’t rub off! 🙂

And now for the finished card…

I mounted the vellum panel on java Bazzil card stock after tying the ribbon around.  I used the adhesive tape on the back of my ribbon to adhere it to the base, also holding the vellum without adhesive show through.  The bottom border is a Martha Stewart punch that I just love!! I stamped the bird from Inkadinkado Birds Galore set, cut it out and used chalks to add a bit of color to it.  I set it up on pop dots.

QUICK LINKS TO VELLUM CARDS AND INFO ON VELLUM IN GENERAL…

AMRSC– Many card examples- don’t miss the beautiful vellum dress card!

WINTERSMELODY– some great tips and sample cards!

GAILSTAMPS! – Vellum punched flowers

LMAC’S CATERED CROP– A gorgeous pleated vellum skirt card!

Have a fabulous day!!

Tagged with:

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

12 Comments

  1. This card is beautiful an I love the idea of coloring vellum!! I have so much of it and not sure how to use it now here is a technique that I can get into. Thanks for the inspiration!!

    Like

  2. What a pretty idea! this soft effect looks really beautiful and your card is gorgeous!

    Like

  3. D! It is gorgeous!!! I love the soft effect. I was going to use that folder for a wedding card, now I’m going to add your technique!

    Like

  4. I need to pull some vellum back out and start using it again, because this is gorgeous!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

