Inkadinkado, Stamped Projects
Comments 6

Alcohol Ink Magnet

I decided to try the effects of alcohol inks on some Stampbord squares, that I just bought at my LSS.

I really like how this turned out.  It’s a wonderful way to play with color!

The background is made using 3 colors of Adirondack alcohol inks, on a 2X2 Stampbord.  This is a mini pressed board coated with white glossy smooth clay.  It comes in several sizes.  I know this could be made by coating a masonite board with gesso (I used to make my own canvas this way when I painted.) But buying these pre cut 2X2 squares is a time saver.
The Butterfly is stamped in staz-on on the back of a 2X2 Memory glass by Inkssentials.
The glass edges are taped with Terrifically Tacky tape, which can withstand heat. Although the edges are smoothed and buffed, there can still be risk of cutting fingers, so I used a bone folder edge to smooth on the tape.  This was not difficult though.
I then embossed all the edges with a few coats of SU silver ep and SU glassy glaze enamel, which to the best of my knowledge is alot like UTEE. It gave it a soldered look, and further protects from sharp edges.
I bonded the glass to the Stampbord using Crystal effects (fantastic as glue) around the edges, stamped side down.
Then all I had to do was add a magnet to the back!

I had fun creating this mini projectIf anyone is interested in seeing a picture tutorial, let me know!  If there is enough interest I’ll put one together.

Have a great night/day!

Thanks so much for your recent comments, as they do mean so much to me! It really is encouraging to hear from you and helps spur on my creativity! 😉

This entry was posted in: Inkadinkado, Stamped Projects

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

6 Comments

  1. Theresa says

    Oops, I should have gone a little further–I see you have already posted a tute–thanks so much!

    Like

  2. cathie says

    yes i would be interested in a tutorial too please the butterfly is so cute i like it……….

    Like

  3. Wow. Beautiful artwork. The swirls above the wings of the butterfly give the illusion of movement. I can see it’s wings fluttering in the wind. One of your finer creations.

    Like

  4. what a great project Deena! – love the colors on this – I haven’t heard of these stampboards before – I’ll have to look for them!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

