Colorwash, Flourishes, Sketch Challenge Cards
Comments 5

It’s a Wash!

I love this technique! A color wash is simply a mix of diluted colors.  Art supply companies have made it even easier to color wash with sprays like Lumin Arte’s shimmering mists, and Tattered Angels glimmer mists. These have, as their names suggest, a real sparkle to them.  It is hard to capture that in photos, but trust me, this card has a lot of shimmer and shine to it in real life.  These are so fun to play with!

When I painted,  I would water down acrylic paints to apply a color wash with paintbrushes.  There is a similar technique explained on Splitcoast Stampers using dye re inkers.

For my card I used Lumin Arte’s shimmering mists, spraying them on one over the other,  while still wet. Then I went back in with a paintbrush and ‘pulled’ the water colors around until I was happy with the mixed look I wanted. I could have let it dry at this point on it’s own, but as I’ve mentioned before, I’m impatient! So, I used my heat tool to get it done.

My friend Diane, does beautiful color washes on her cards, and it was she who showed me how simply it could be done with these fantastic sprays!   She simply sprays them on one over the other “wet on wet”, using 2 or 3 colors to her liking, and lets them dry as is.   You get wonderful little droplets of dark and light colors and I suggest if you want to try this look, not to be impatient, 😉 and do let it dry on its own.  If you hurry the process with a heat tool, it blows the water color around a bit and does alter the look.  If your already manipulating the wash with a brush like I did, then using the heat tool is o.k.  😉  I couldn’t resist going in and ‘pulling’ the wet wash around.  I guess I still love my brushes! 🙂

The Flourishes image was stamped in white craft (pigment) ink and then dried with a heat tool because it is slower to dry.  Then I colored it in with my Twinkling H2O’s, leaving some white areas as highlights.

I also used this sketch from Splitcoaststamper’s challenge on Wednesday.

Stamps: Flourishes: Spring Ephemerals, Verve sentiments :Uplifting Phrases
Paper: fabriano watercolor, Bazzil plum, K& co. designer paper
Ink: Craft white Stampin’ Up! , Lumin Arte shimmering Mists Fern, sky blue, periwinkle, silver
Accessories: paintbrush, LuminArte Twinkling H2O’s,  mini gems

Try this technique, your inner child will come out as you play with color!

Thanks so much for stopping by today! You know I love your company! 😉

This entry was posted in: Colorwash, Flourishes, Sketch Challenge Cards

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

5 Comments

  1. This is so pretty. Thankyou for all your tutorials they are so inspiring. Have a great weekend
    Kes
    x

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

