3D PAPER PROJECTS, CARDS, JustRite Stampers, Stampin' UP, TUTORIALS
Comments 5

Baby it’s Cold Outside

Ooh baby it’s cold outside…winter is coming folks, whether we like it or not! I always think of the song Baby it’s Cold Outside when I hear or say those words. I love the version with Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Jordan.  Follow the link for a classic record player version.  Something about the scratchy record that just adds to the feel of the song!

Yes, it really is cold today, there were even a few flakes this morning! I had to take out the mits and hats, and I realized I will have to shop for more.  I always think I have plenty of time to get these things, and then I end up scrambling to buy  winter coats, mits and hats all in one weekend, because I need them and I need them now!  Every year. I just don’t learn.

Anyway, with cold weather on my mind, I have made a couple of Holiday things and thought I’d share them with you all.  I hope it’s not to early for you!  🙂

I love to save these Splash Gum containers! They’re white with red tops so they’re perfect for Christmas decorations or little gifts, filled with candy or maybe buttons, brads, or eyelets for your crafting friends!

I made this one quick and easy with my new JustRite Christmas stamp Ensemble and the Harmony Classic Wooden stamper III.  I can’t say enough about these fabulous stamps.  I love their size, shape, feel, and even the great packaging they come in!  If you want to learn more about these fabulous sets, and on how to use them, JustRite has a blog featuring many talented stampers and their samples!  You can also have a look at Sharon Johnson’s wonderful blog No Time To Stamp? for some really great tips and techniques using these too!

Here’s a close up of the top:

Sharon talks about priming your rubber stamps on her site,  an easy method of filing and buffing the rubber to give it some “tooth” that picks up the ink better.  As you can see in the close up of the picture above, the Merry Christmas is a bit splotchy, which in many cases is great if you like a somewhat distressed look.  However if you want a perfectly smooth inked image, have a look at the easy steps she talks about on her blog.

I stamped mini pointsettias and greenery around the bottom using Palette Hybrid Ink and heat setting it.  I added a Stampin’ Up! Red Riding Hood ribbon, and was done with it!  Sweet and simple.

For the hanging decoration, I used Stampin’ Up! striped Red Riding Hood ribbon cut to a 9″ length.  I folded over the top and adhered to the back to form a loop for the binder ring to go through.  This ring is the kind that easily opens and closes.   I stamped my Christmas Ensemble III sentiment using the border around it in Rose Red.  Then I colored in the mistletoe with green marker and a sakura stardust gelly roll pen for some sparkle. Unfortunately I don’t think you can see this too well in the photo. I used my Creative Memories circle cutter to cut it out and to mat it with Red Riding Hood card stock.   I added a brass snowflake brad and used it too attach to the ribbon, as well.  For the final touch, I added a ribbon bow to the bottom.

I hope you all have a great, and creative day!!

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

5 Comments

  1. I love those little jars! I don’t think we have those around here??? great colors for Christmas – thanks for the tip to check out Sharon’s blog – I’m having some trouble getting the just rite’s to stamp solidly….

    Like

  2. Oh my Deena what a great project!!! I love my Just Rite stamps too. I know I will use them alot at Christmas…
    Have a great day!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

