3D PAPER PROJECTS, Technique Lover's Challenge, TUTORIALS
Comments 14

Wrapped and Ready!

img_7408-acrylic-boxes-of-chocolate-w-30 Isn’t there something delicious about being able to see     what’s inside a box as soon as you get it? Especially when they are treats you can eat?  I just love these little clear acetate boxes! I made these when I found this Technique Lovers Challenge on Splitcoast.  Check out the gallery! It’s definitely eye candy!!  You can see the tutorial for these there as well in a pdf file.  I however, have never been very good at following directions exactly, and I always seem to change a little something here or there, so I have included my own mini tutorial showing how I made these.  They really are VERY SIMPLE to make!

STEP 1.  Cut a 6″ x 6″ patterned paper of choice (or stamp your own card stock) into four 3″ x 3″ squares.

This will make two acetate boxes.

clear-box-tutorial-1-30STEP 2.  For each box you make, score two of your 3″ x 3″ squares a half inch in on all sides.

clear-box-tutorial-2-30

clear-box-tutorial-3-30

STEP 3. Cut slits up short fold lines on opposite ends of the square.

Fold in all sides and glue short ends on inside of long ends, for box top.  Repeat for box bottom.

clear-box-tutorial-4-30 STEP 4.  Cut a piece of acetate 3 1/2″ x 8 1/4″ long.  Score along the length at 2″, 4″, 6″, 8″ .  You may have noticed by these measurements that the box is the same size (2″ square) as the lid. But I find that just the folding of the edges shortens the sides just enough so the box will fit snugly inside the box bottom and top. If you prefer to loosen things up, just score a 3 1/2″ x 8″ length of acetate at 1 15/16″ for all four sides, with a 1/4″ to spare for the closure.

clear-box-tutorial-5-30 clear-box-tutorial-6-30

STEP 5.  Using clear Terrificaly Tacky tape, close close the side of the box, making sur the 1/4″ piece is on the inside of the box, so you will have a smooth outer edge.   Then tape all 4 sides along the bottom.

clear-box-tutorial-7-30 STEP 6.  Push the acetate box into the box bottom, making sure you can grab an edge of the red tape cover layer, then peel off the tape covering each side.  Alternatively, you can remove the tape covering first and then insert the acetate box into the box bottom, but it can get a bit sticky and tricky to get it to sit just right at the bottom.

candy-acetate-box-w

That’s it! You can now decorate the box as you like.  For more inspiration have a look at these wonderful samples by other bloggers:

Paper Cookies

Toy’s Haven

Beate sweet!

Tinkering in Ink with Tanya (love this box top)

Paper and Ink Playground Adorable PTI house

The possibilities are endless!!

Why don’t you have a go at these, and if you do, link it in a comment because i would love to see yours too!!  Wouldn’t they be great for last minute office gifts, teacher thank you’s, house parties, friends, neighbours…..

I hope you liked today’s tutorial! Let me know what you think and if you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Have a creative day!

Tagged with:

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

14 Comments

  1. Pingback: Four Elements clear box research | diana vroeginday

  2. The acetate is about the same thickness as heavyweight card stock, I’m sorry I don’t know the exact number, Ana.

    Like

  3. Deena, what a great post! It is just what I needed, thank you!! Question: What is the thickness of the acetate? Thanks!

    Like

  4. Jitin Rawal says

    Could you please advise what size of acetate sheet is required to make a 6inches by 6 inches square box?

    Like

  5. I’m making these treat boxes for my March 2011 wedding and was trying to find ways to close the top in a way that they’ll stay on but people won’t need to destroy the whole box to get the goodies inside. I love the way you have the ribbon on the top, which is what made me stop by here… And I sure do wish I would have seen your tutorial and that it’s possible to not use as much paper as is shown in the SCS tutorial before ordering 11 packs of the Bride Specialty DSP from Stampin’ Up!!! I think I can get away with only using 3 or 4 packs using your tutorial. Oh well, at least it’s pretty paper that has many uses. All of this babbling to say thanks for sharing and the inspiration. :o)

    Like

  6. Pingback: Scraponomy Blog » Blog Archive » Übersicht Scor-Pal Anleitungen

  7. Jean says

    This box will make an awsome wedding favor. Could you please send me the cut file?

    Like

  8. Carol says

    Thanks…..my next purchase was going to be a bind it all, now I realize I need a scor-pal….I love the box…thanks for the instructions…can’t wait to start making them…

    Like

  9. Hey Dee! I was looking for an easy tutorial on how to make these, and look, you had done one for me!!! Hope your weekend has been amazing, sounded like fun! I’ll try calling you again on Monday.

    Me

    Like

  10. Fantastic boxes. Great, easy and wonderful step by step instructions!
    Happy Thanksgiving, Hugs and smiles

    Like

  11. Deena As soon as I get home from grocery shopping I am making these… These are fabulous!! Great job!
    Hope you are well and that you have a wonderful day.

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

