Brayer, CARDS, Emboss Resist, Flourishes, heat embossing
Comments 4

A Scene: Brayering, Sponging and Masking

img_7873-tsc-scene-w-30

Making this was such a therapeutic process!  I really “got into it” if you know what I mean.  I used resist embossing, brayered ink, sponging and masking to create the scene.

I made this for our Twisted Sistah challenge a week and a half ago.  I really enjoy making scenes, but I haven’t done very many.  I need to practice!!

Here are the main steps of how I made this one.

img_7864-bird-scene-tutorial-25 I loaded the bird image stamp first in versamark ink, then in jet black Archival ink, stamped it and clear embossed it.

img_7865-bird-scene-tutorial-25

I colored it in using a blender pen and watercolor wonder crayons.

img_7866-bird-tutorial-25

I repeated the same process with the birdhouse and smaller bird in the top corner.  I first had a look at where the tree limb would hang, to figure out how I would place these, so they would look like they were on the branch and not in midair somewhere.  Once they were colored, I used my versamarker to fill in the  colored areas and clear embossed them too.

Now I don’t have  pictures, but I used my brayer to ink the entire sheet in So Saffron. Then sponged on weathered wood ( a blue color) across the top and around areas of the bottom for the sky and shadows on the ground.

I used a torn bit of paper to lay across the middle of the page and sponged on Always Artichoke as a horizon line.

img_7867-bird-scene-tutorial-25 Oh, one last thing, I used a white Inkssentials pen to create highlights around the bird and the branches too.

I hope to do more of these, as I know the practice with the brayer and sponging will help.

Thanks so much for stopping by today!    Hope you enjoy today’s card!

This entry was posted in: Brayer, CARDS, Emboss Resist, Flourishes, heat embossing

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

4 Comments

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

