CARDS, Flourishes, Punches, Sketch Challenge Cards
Comments 5

New beginnings

IMG_9256 Autumn Flourishes wcrop 30

My children started school last week, my youngest going to Kindergarten for the first time.  He absolutely LOVED going! It made me a little sad thinking of all that I would miss out on without him at home for a large part of the day, every day.  I know, I know, we have to go through it and they have to grow up, but it’s hard to let go sometimes.

But when I shake myself out of my selfish feelings of holding on…I am so happy that he is enjoying himself!!  My older son was not quite as excited about school this year (grade 3) but he still goes willingly and enjoys his friends and is still young enough to come home and tell me all about his day!   I love hearing about what sparked their interest, and what games they played in the schoolyard, who they played with, and how much they liked/disliked something!  It makes me proud too to see how confident they are, and how competent they are without mom and dad right there by their side!  They are really good boys and I am so blessed to have them!!

Now, how did my days go without any kids at home?? Well, lets see…I had two play dates of my own for a change!  I had my friend Peggy over and we had a lovely time stamping together, and another day, I went to lunch with a friend…in the middle…of…the …week!!!  I hardly remember the last time I did that!  Certainly before children!  So, no, I was not lonely, and I did take advantage of my time without my boys pulling me in two different directions!  I enjoyed the quiet time too, as there are few of those with them around!  But when the clock strikes 2:15 and I have to go pick them up,  I am so happy to see them!

I do have a card to share with you today… thanks for bearing with me!

Flourishes has a SKETCH CHALLENGE on this week and all those who play have a chance of winning all four of their NEW RELEASES!!  I always enjoy their challenges, but this certainly makes it even more exciting!!

IMG_9256 Autumn Flourishes w 30

For the “feel of fall” sketch challenge I decided to use the Autumn Flourishes set combined with Three Bugs in a Rug Autumn Harvest paper.   I punched a series of leaves from a dusty durango strip of paper, then used a border scallop punch just along the edge  to create my border.  I added some green punched leaves, a pewter spiral, and a strip of American Crafts ribbon to the top of the main image panel instead of a bow.

Let me know what you think!  Thanks so much for stopping by today!!

This entry was posted in: CARDS, Flourishes, Punches, Sketch Challenge Cards

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

5 Comments

  1. Just wonderful, Deena! Love the colors and fall theme. I think fall cards are about my favorite of all and this one is terrific. I’ll bet you and Peggy had a marvelous time.

    Like

  2. Beautiful combination of color and pattern, Deena.

    I remember those days…now with children long gone and one with children of their own my days fly by, busy, busy…how did I work full time, craft, clean, cook, do Scouts and sports, laundry, husband time, lawn work, homework, school volunteer…all at the same time…whew…makes me tired thinking about it!!

    Like

  3. Very beautiful card, Deena, lovely colour combination!
    I have the same problem as you, I already miss my daughter and it’s only the second day! But she comes home only at 5.00 p.m., because they have school till 3.15 p.m. and I have to work also till 3.30 p.m., so I can’t be back on time to pick her up. She has to stay together with many other children in the Kindergarten, and they have activities which end at 5.00 o’clock and I don’t like to interrupt their games at all, so all the parents pick the children up at 5’clock. So there are really long days for me! And it has been like this for four years, but I don’t have another choice, as long as I like to work. I hope to win the lottery one day, so I can stay home, I really hope!
    Hugs, Alina

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

