CARDS, Colour Challenge Cards, Cuttlebug, Flourishes, Scor-Pal, Timeless Tuesdays Challenge
Comments 7

Fight Like a Girl!

October is breast cancer awareness month as I’m sure many of you are only too aware.  It’s hard these days to find someone who has not in some significant way been touched by cancer, be it through a friend or family member or a personal struggle.

It is everyone’s fight!

With this in mind, a few challenges have been focusing on making cards that are getting us to “think pink”.  I’ve made my card today for two of these.  First, Flourishes challenge asking us to use pink and the Cuttlebug Spot asking for pink embossed creations.

I recently bought a fabulous set called Think Pink- Fight Like A Girl from Flourishes that has many amazing images for making breast cancer awareness cards.  If you haven’t seen it, and are looking for something a little different this is really a must see.  I was so excited to see something fresh and different for making this type of card!  I know many of you make lots of these cards throughout the year for charity events and such, so you might be happy to have a few new inspired images too!

Let me know what you think of them too.  I would love to see what others are doing with this set, so if you already have it and have been using it, please, leave me a link!

Fight like a girl w 30

For the face of the card I  used my Scor-Pal to add three score lines at 1.5″, 2″ and 2.5″ .  I stamped the larger ribbon in Pretty in Pink on the bottom three times, before using the swiss dots cuttlebug folder to emboss the top and bottom portions. The t-shirt is stamped in Memento rich cocoa on pink Bazzil textured card stock.  The sentiment is stamped with the same ink on the tee.  I cut it out and “hung” it on a mini wire hanger, popping it up on dimensional foam adhesive.  I stamped a ribbon on white card stock using Pretty in Pink ink and cut it out to make the “scarf”.  The last detail was to add a few pink gems to the ribbons using Crystal effects to adhere them securely.

Have a creative day!

I hope my Canadian friends have a wonderful Thanksgiving long weekend!!


7 Comments

  1. Deena says

    Hi Shirley, Oh, my goodness 2lbs! I have a nephew who was born at 2 1/2 lbs and he is a tall strong young man of 18 now! I used stamps from the company Flourishes to stamp the ribbon and then cut it out by hand. If you would like more info/help just send me an e-mail at deenaperreault@hotmail.com. Best wishes to you and your new grandaughters!
    Smiles,
    Deena

    Like

  2. I have twin granddaughters born on 10/23/09, 2lbs a piece. I would like to know where I could find these ribbons so I could put them ion their inkabator while they are still in intensive care. This is a wonderful card and scarf.

    Like

  3. Lovely design elements, Deena. I have several friends who have/had breast cancer. Some have won the battle and some have lost it. Have to check out this set. Thannks!

    Like

  4. Wow, Deena, I like this card so much, I just love what you’ve done with the T-shirt, the hanger and the scarf are a gorgeous idea!
    Hugs, Alina

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

