CARDS, CAS (Clean and Simple), Crafty Creations Challenges, Masculine Cards, Technique Tuesday, Unity Stamps
Comments 17

Take a Risk

I really like this quote by T.S. Eliot. It really speaks to me, although I would not consider myself much of a risk taker.  Still, I can appreciate the genuine curiosity of those who do risk going that one step further than most of us.  Sometimes in life it’s the “What if’s?” that stop us from moving forward, or trying new things, but then again, it’s also  the “What if’s?” that can inspire the possibility of  a positive outcome, of  something great!  Sometimes we need to push our limits to see just how far we can go!

What does this have to do with today’s card?  Well, I’ll tell you!  I know quite a few card makers who are afraid, yes, afraid to leave white space on their cards!!  They MUST fill it up with embellishments or stamps or ANYTHING so as NOT to have any open space left on the card!  This week at Crafty Creations Challenge blog Jaime whom confesses to being AFRAID of the white space, has challenged us all to do just that!  YAY JAIME!

LEAVE WHITE SPACE on our cards!  (white space does not have to be white! It simply means to leave a larger open/clean space)

So, if your limits are reached when you see that oh so intimidating “white space” then this truly is a challenge for YOU!   Push yourself to NOT cover it up…leave it be!! YES you can! It is O.K.  You’ll see! You may even love it in the end!!

LESS really can be MORE!   So, WHAT IF you left some white space on your cards?

I have off centered the main image of the bicycle to the right and balanced it with the sentiment to the left.  It was hovering in the mid section of the card so to balance it I’ve added a 1 inch strip of black and white Pink Paislee Bayberry Cottage dp under it, but not touching the bottom of the card.   I’ve scored two lines a half inch apart at the top and added a black and white baker’s twine for the finish!  Although my card is white in this case,  it could just as easily been a solid color base with the same elements and “white space”.   I hope you like it!

Stamps: Technique Tuesday All Aboard, Unity sentiment

Challenges:

Crafty Creations Challenge: white space

Simply Less is More: CAS off center

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you’ll join in the Crafty Creations Challenge!

Have a creative day!

Deena

17 Comments

  1. Gorgeous Deena, beautiful CAS card and I love the sentiment.

    Hugs
    Anke

    Like

  2. I LOVE it Deena – soooo elegant, so effective! I think it MUST be all the way our brains are programmed – i found this challenge daunting also as it was to be inspired by your good self!! lol Fab motivional blog post too btw! bx

    Like

  3. Claire says

    Ahhhh! you do it so well Deena – a really beautiful card! Cheers Claire x

    Like

  4. Hey sistah Deena! This is looking very good. I do love white spaces and you do them so well yourself I have to say! Interesting write my friend. Great challenge, I agree. Peggyxo

    Like

  5. Super card Deena, perfect for our Clean and Simple Challenge Blog… we LOVE white space at “Less is More”.
    I love the Baker’s twine too!
    Thanks for joining us !
    Chrissie
    Lady LIM
    “Less is More”

    Like

  6. I do really like it! And agree whitespace is completely great on cards.
    Super job Deena
    Thanks so much
    mandi
    Diva LIM
    Less is More

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

