3D PAPER PROJECTS, CARDS BY STAMP COMPANY, SFDT, Squigglefly Images
Comments 21

Squigglefly Kraftastic Challenge

Squigglefly has a new artist, new releases and a new challenge this week!

Lulu Lancaster (LulusApple)  is the edgy new artist bringing Squigglefly some ‘creepy cute’ images for your moodier days of crafting.  You know you have it in you…those moods have a way of creeping up on even the most innocent of us!

The challenge this week, set by our fearless leader Marlene (Marlooney) is…KRAFTASTIC!

I made a mini art journal that I’m sure I’ll fill with sketches and card designs.  This spirited “gothic angel” is reaching for the stars and just trying to stay true to herself!  The cover is made from Kraft cardstock; I stamped the stars and flourishes, and added a little doodling of my own.  She has icicle stickles on her wings for sparkle, and crimson pearls ” just because”!

HOW   TO:

1. Cut two kraft pieces  and  10 pieces of cream or white light weight paper. I’ve cut mine to 3 1/8″ x 4″ but you can make your journal any size.  Round the corners of  one side on all.   NOTE: If you have a CRICUT expression you will find this shaped note paper in the Graphically speaking cartridge with the  pierced holes and rounded corners done for you.  Saves some time, but don’t fret if you don’t have this as it really is not difficult to do yourself.

2.   I used a Japanese side stitch to bind my journal.  HERE is a good tutorial on how to do this.  I pierced extra holes 1/8″ apart for the look I wanted, but the stitching is essentially the same as in the tutorial.  I used 6 ply embroidery thread, but any heavy thread would do.

These notebooks/journals can be made to any size and make great little gifts that make BACK  TO SCHOOLl more fun for your kids.  They could stamp their own!  I like using kraft cardstock for the covers as it has the look of the Moleskin notebooks that are so popular now.

I hope to see you at  the Squigglefly challenge blog with your Krafty creations! 

I’ve also entered this inspiring challenge!

MAKE IT MONDAY~

Have a creative day and if you like, share a creative moment with me.  I enjoy hearing about you and your creations, and if you leave me a link to your blog, I can stop by and say Hi! 

Deena

21 Comments

  1. Hi, back again, I was following the squigglefly blog hop so thought I had better pop back, It is a beautiful card,
    Sandy

    Like

  2. Cute Mini Journal, the hair on the little “gothic angel” looks very textured, beautiful colouring and I like your trail of bling too. I saw your journal on Make It Monday and came for a closer look, Good luck,
    Sandy

    Like

  3. I love this creepy fairy! And what a gorgeous journal! It`s just different than the other entries! Saw you on Make It Monday. (:

    Like

  4. very cute journal , Love it ~Thank-you for sharing your creative talent with us.~ADORABLE my friend ,I’m peeking in from the ” Make It Monday” blog 🙂
    scrappingmamma ~

    Like

  5. Beautiful journal – I especially love the gothic angel and her outfit. I like kraft paper too – so soothing.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I always enjoy meeting another artist.

    Like

  6. Deena, this journal is truly KRAFTastic!!! Love everything about this! Thank you for representing Marlooney’s Marvels over at Squigglefly!

    Like

  7. Lovely journal!…

    Thanks for sharing your creation with Make It Monday.
    Don’t forget……… if you leave a comment on another entry, mention that you saw their card on “Make It Monday” for a chance at second prize. The more entries you comment on the more chance you have of winning second prize.

    Like

  8. Deena……..This is just amazing! Love your take on the new artist’s image and what a neat idea with the journal!

    Like

  9. Deena says

    Hi Joanne, I will add in more details to the blog post, since there may be others like you who are asking the same questions. Thanks for asking; I will do my best to answer them!
    smiles,Deena

    Like

  10. joanne says

    I am impressed with your journal – only have a few questions: the size, how many pages, how many holes punched for the binding. Would also like instructions for the binding stitching you did on it. I’m not asking for much am I? lol Thanks.

    Like

  11. Hi Deena! That is a fab journal! Saw it on Make It Monday and had to get a better look at it ^^
    Hugs from Finland, Eemeli

    Like

  12. She rocks. Love the journal idea, have been thinking trying this but shhh, I’m a bit lazy.

    She turned out so well, I adore the stars and the flourishes you added, your project is wonderful.

    Like

  13. Love your journal Deena. Your binding is great and I love the red with the kraft. perfect touch of sparkle in this angel’s wings too.

    Like

  14. Hi Deena i love the idea of stamping onto the Kraft paper, creates a much more muted calm feel doesn’t it?
    Been so busy with boys on summer holidays, havn’t been able to have time to make myself!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

