CARDS, SFDT
Comments 7

Let’s Sail With Squigglefly!

Hey everyone! Glad to see you pulled yourselves out of bed this rather gloomy Monday morning!  Or is it just gloomy for me…? Maybe so, since my husband had to go back to work today after our week’s stay home vacation…! AND it’s cool and rainy outside too, which doesn’t help since I’m feeling that summer is coming to an all too sooooooon end!!  PLEASE don’t let it be so, I pray for  a few more good hot weeks!!  This is also my boys’ last week before school starts and for you Moms out there; I know that comes with mixed feelings for most, elated cries of joy for some, and even a few tears for others.  I can happily say that this summer was so busy and fun and sunny hot, that I really enjoyed every minute of it with my boys!  I can’t believe how quickly their time home from school has gone.  I’m sure that they feel the same.

Anyhoo…today’s card is very fitting since the SQUIGGLEFLY CHALLENGE is WATERWORKS!

I’ve used an image from a fantastic SET of images called LET’S SAIL by Michelle Bertuzzi.  This is such a cute set with sentiments and images for a new baby boy!  I chose to use just the sailboat, this time.  I used copics to color it in blues, greens and highlights of yellow.

I’ve also used a SKETCH from MY TIME MADE EASY,  Pretty Patterns Sketch #23. I thought it was perfect for the waves I wanted to create here.

I was also inspired by these challenges:

Inspire Me Fridays: linky party

Crafts and Me Challenges: blue/greens

PaperCraft Star: photo inspiration

Thanks so much for stopping by! You know I love your company! See, I’m already cheered up this morning! 🙂  Have a creative day!!

Deena

7 Comments

  1. Love this Deena! I especially love the way you staggered the border strips in the background! Your card wins my favorite of the DT cards this week!

    Like

  2. what a perfect pick for the waterworks challenge–love it–I have never before seen this image–will have to go searching now!!

    Like

  3. peggy elms says

    Look at who is sailing smoothly here! WOW Deena. Read all your post and got all teary remembering my kids. Gee, wasn’t it yesterday when my oldest son started kindergarten and struck a cool pose for me! How time flies. On the cheery side, I used to love shopping with the kids and get new stuff and later on with our “echo consciense”, I would keep my last boy’s writing books for the next and so on and so on. Yep, times, they are a changing! LOL

    Love that card my dear. So cool to see the waves peeking out from the back of your image. You are THE original. :)Peggy

    Like

  4. Love how you border off cuts echo waves. So very clever. This is a great image for this challenge, way to see past the baby congrats theme of it.

    Our kids are on their last 2 weeks before school, mixed feelings here too. Especially since my youngest starts Junior Kindergarten and his big sister Grade 1. So it will be an even bigger change in our routine this year. Sigh. Hope your blues improve, think of all the fun Fall activities that will be coming up to enjoy with them, that may help.

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

