Basic Grey, CARDS, CARDS BY STAMP COMPANY, For Little Boys, Masculine Cards
Comments 24

Back To School ~ A New Image

I drew this image yesterday, as back to school is heavy on my mind! My son asked me if it was him?  ” Because I have a backpack just like that!”  🙂

I made this card inspired by a few different challenges tonight; I’ll list those below.   I can’t wait to hear what you think of  my new drawing!

I colored him with copics and did my best to do some proper shading since he is a pencil drawing and there’s plenty of indication as to where to shade when coloring.  When I clean up the image digitally, I  try not to take away most of the original sketch lines/shading.  I love the look.  If you have ever colored any Flourishes images you’ll know what I’m talking about, since their images have those extra areas of dark lines that naturally show where the shading belongs.

I made this card with my older son in mind, and since he’s 10, I didn’t want it looking to0 ‘kiddy’.  No primary colors, no cute school icons etc.  I used kraft as a base and a neutral reddish brown and cream dp with pencils and numbers on it from Basic Grey Recess. Then I matted everything with blue bayou card stock.

I also made a simple bookmark to go with it showing the image in black print.  The sentiment is from Unity stamp co.

I was inspired by these fabulous challenges:

The Sweetest Thing – sketch 131

CASE study– show our own “signature style”

Colour Create Challenge– red/kraft/cream

BasicGrey Challenges: at least one thing Basic Grey (all dp is from Recess by Basic Grey)

PaperPlay Challenges: Back to School

Sparkles Forum Challenges: One for the boys!

Papercraft Star: Back to School

DYSU challenge Blog: boy or man masculine creation

Creative Inspirations Challenge: Back to School

Make it Monday: Always Anything Goes: linky party

Whew!  That was fun!

Thanks for stopping by and taking a moment to say hello!! 

Have a creative day!

Deena

24 Comments

  1. What an amazing image you drew, and your coloring turned out very nice. Beautiful card. Thank you for playing along with DYSU.

    Like

  2. Jean Martin says

    What a lovely card Deena! Thanks for playing with us this week at CASE Study Challenge! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness Deena – you are a talented girl! The drawing is fabulous – just shows how great when your son recognised himself! Fab detail – down to the very markings of his sole!! I love the matching bookmark too! bx

    Like

  4. How special that you have actually drawn this image for your beautiful card…what a treasure. You are certainly talented! Saw you on the MIM challenge and had no idea you had actually drawn your own image. Awesome!

    Like

  5. Debby says

    You’ve hit the perfect compromise for a school card for an older kid. And what a wonderful drawing! Thanks for joining us at CASE study.

    Like

  6. Sylvia says

    What a beautiful creation. Fabulous design and
    lovley use of our colours:-))
    Thanks for joining in with us over at Colour Create.
    Sylvia

    Like

  7. Wow yes your drawing is indeed superb! I love that you drew him bring home a paper no doubt needing a parent signature. I think the colors you choose make this perfect for an older child! Love your work

    Like

  8. Very lovely colorin the Images and great using the color cream red and kraft…lovely sketch too…adorable set….

    I am joining Colour Create Challenge also, my card is number 20…would you mind to see my blog…and many thanks before…hugs, Monika

    Like

  9. I love all the warm earthy colors of you card! And a pencil drawing! Wow!
    So glad you joined us at Papercraft Star!
    Kindest regards,
    Jennifer

    Like

  10. I wish I had the ability to draw, but that’s not in my bag of tricks. 🙂 However, you definitely have the gift. This is absolutely wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing it with us this week at Papercraft Star!

    Like

  11. Oh my goodness…you are sooo talented! I love the drawing, both in color and b&w. Wonderful card and how personalized for your son. 🙂
    Thanks so much for sharing it with us at Make It Monday.
    Lisa xx
    Remember, for a chance to win the prize from our sponsor, just leave a comment for another entry. Mention you saw them on Make It Monday. The more entries you comment on the more chances you have of winning! WOO HOO!!

    Like

  12. Hi

    What a great card and gift tag your drawing skills are brilliant – wish I could draw……..

    Thanks so much for sharing your creation with us over at Creative Inspirations and good luck.

    Tina

    Like

  13. Excellent work Deena. I’m so impressed! I can’t believe you’ve been hiding this talent!

    Like

  14. Wow Deena, he is amazing! What a talented lady you are!

    Thx for joining us at Make it Monday! Hope to see you for our next challenge on…Monday of course, lol!

    Mary J x

    Like

  15. Wow, you are sooo good Deena. Love the drawing inspired by your son. I am so moved by the image itself, what it represents. Back to school to a tee! :)Peggy

    Like

  16. Terri / Brat Cards says

    Oh Deena!

    That drawing is amazing!!! I didn’t know you draw. My son is 10 as well, and he is blond. Orange is his favorite color too. The similarity stops there! I can’t draw!!!

    WOW!

    Terri / Brat

    Like

  17. You are such a talented lady. Your drawing is superb. Your colouring is so neat too. I just love it. A great idea to make the book mark too.
    I spotted your lovely work on the make it monday blog and just popped over to say hi.

    Shirley

    Like

  18. This is so very sweet! Love the coordinating bookmark!
    Thank you so much for joining us at Make it Monday!
    Remember, to be in the running to win the prize from our sponsor this week just leave a comment for another entry. Be sure to mention you saw them on Make It Monday. The more entries you comment on the more chances you have of winning!
    Rene 😀

    Like

  19. Great card and bookmark. The drawing is fantastic – clever lady.
    Thanks for joining us at DYSU this week xx

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

