CARDS, CAS (Clean and Simple), Masculine Cards
Comments 12

Pencils and Paper

My boys enjoyed their first few days back at school this week and I got through it o.k too!  I’m a bit nervous about the year ahead because my oldest son is in grade 5 and everyone’s been telling us how important a year it is as these are the grades that will follow him into high school! High school??? Yikes.  Ok.   He has 2 whole years before high school.  We also have a new principal this year and there will be lots of changes.  Hopefully all for the better.  I’m staying optimistic!

As for my card today, I decided to make a masculine teacher thank you card.  See? Optimism. 🙂  I drew this image to make  school cards and notecards etc.  What is it about a grouping of pencils and new paper that inspires me?  It always has; I used to love sorting my pencils for school  and making neat stacks of  my papers and notebooks.    I believe it has to do with the anticipation of possibilities; of a story untold.  Do any of you feel the same when you see a stack of pencils or paper?

CASE STUDY challenge has a new muse : Julie Lacey .  The challenge is to case her card:

 

Doesn’t she have a lovely style?!  I’ve kept the offset circle  for the main image, and the CAS style of her card, and replaced the ribbon with the strip of  hole punched paper.   I used the same color palette of white, kraft and green .

Have a creative day!

Deena

12 Comments

  1. Shirley says

    Love both of the cards. The second one is my favorite with the pretty bow. Great drawing.

    Like

  2. Jean Martin says

    This is a wonderful card Deena! Thanks for sharing it with us at CASE Study Challenge! 🙂

    Like

  3. Anonymous says

    Awww, another visual candy for us to enjoy! Love the note and pot of pencils! Can’t wait to play with your images. I really love this image as it talks to the writer in me. Hugs to you my friend. Peggyxpo

    Like

  4. Debby Hughes says

    You drew those pencils? Wow – seriously good! And you’ve created a perfect “feel” for the card too. Thanks for joining us at CASE study.

    Like

  5. I love the image of paper and pencils! I don’t care how old you are, the back-to-school vibe is always endearing. Great job on the challenge!

    Like

  6. I love this Deena! Your CASE is perfect! You picked the perfect punch for the border at the top of your design, and your drawing is just awesome!

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

