CARDS
Comments 6

Orchids For Someone Special

Hello!!

How is your weekend going?  I had a very satisfying,  productive day Saturday as I declared it an ‘unplugged’ day!  None of us was allowed to use/work/play on our computers or video game consoles, or I pods!  Not one video/computer game was played all day!  That’s really something in our house!!  No e-mails were sent, no internet shopping/surfing was done, not even blogging!  I even stopped myself from using my I pad to look up a recipe!  The boys helped their Dad outside with yard work and putting away the patio furniture, whittled some sticks, played, cleaned their rooms (which they do every Saturday) and tidied up the play room.   I cleaned up the house and taught my son how to use the washing machine to do his own load of laundry (for his Scouts badge).  We had errands to run, so we went out for a bit and they each got a book  that they then read later at home! Yay!  The best part? There was actually very little moaning or complaining about it all!!

Today, all is back to normal; here I am blogging and the boys played some ‘Star Wars Lego’ on the play station and my husband is playing online too. hehe.  This afternoon we’re  having  friends over, so no worries, we won’t be plugged in all day!

I went out for dinner to celebrate my friends birthday and I thought I’d share the card that I made for her.  I enjoyed drawing the orchids for it on Friday.

I cut the mat using Labels 1 Spellbinders die in my cuttlebug.  I didn’t have a bigger size for the black mat, so I traced the outer edge of the largest one I had (the one my image is on) and then cut it out by hand which worked out nicely!  I colored my orchids with copics and stamped a sentiment from Kaiser clear stamps,  punched it out with an SU! scallop punch and inked the edges.  The papers are Basic Grey “out of print” dps, and Bazzill pink/peach cardstock on a white 5 1/4″ square card base.

I used the Crafting Life’s Little Pieces monthly sketch for my card layout.

Here’s the new image that is now available at my A Creative Need Shop !

Come by tomorrow  (Monday) to see which image I chose to draw from one of the suggestions that I received from some of you!! I will announce the winner of my mini giveaway!

Also a Freebie will be available for 24 hrs on Tuesday!

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful, creative day! 

Deena

This entry was posted in: CARDS

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

6 Comments

  1. Ok my first thought was “unplugged?”!!! My 2nd thought was….oh I soooo need to do that. LOL!! WOWZERS that drawing is just gorgeous!! I love how you used it on this card and that black is a great accent on the whole card. Oh and great take on the sketch too. Thanks so much for joining us at CLP this month!! Hugs!

    Like

  2. Peggy The nut says

    Did I say beautiful…or gorgeous…or fabulous…or even outstanding sketching my dear…well, if I didn’t yesterday, today’s as good a day to say it! I love your orchids. You DA BOMB sketcher Deena! xo

    Like

  3. Terri / Brat Fleming says

    This is gorgeous Deena. I’ll bet your friend LOVED this. The drawing, the layout, the papers and colors! Yep, GORGEOUS!

    Like

  4. Beautiful card and great idea with the “unplugged day”. I think I need to do it, too. Sometimes I spend more time on my computer than really creating something! 😉
    Hugs

    Like

  5. Love this card. Beautifully done. Thank you sharing how you put it together. It really does help people like me who loves to see how creative people come up with their gorgeous cards.

    Like

  6. Hi this is a really lovely colour combination- and I have a weakness for basic grey papers- and the out of print collection has to be my favourite.
    I was interested to see you used your spellbinders in your cuttlebug. I have been admiring the dies for a long while now and wondered I could use them in my cuttlebug. I think I can now perhaps add some to my Christmas list :-).

    Good for you have an ‘unplugged day’ we have those once in a while (and star wars Lego is also a big favourite with my boys too)

    Thanks for continuing to share your beautiful cards.

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

