CARDS, Christmas Cards
Comments 8

Season’s Greetings

I love this time of year.  

My husband is finished work and is home.  He works by contract in the film industry and it ends up being  seasonal (warm weather) work most of the time.  No one likes to shoot movies in the snow!  Our boys  are at school.  So, we have time to prepare for the holidays and enjoy time alone together.   The boys get more and more excited about Christmas, and yesterday was special because it was the first day they could open a ‘window’ on their advent calendars!

They give us their wish lists  and call us down to the playroom to show us the latest greatest commercial for the BEST EVER toy they just would love to have!!  O.k, sometimes this is annoying, but most of the time I find it kind of cute.

As each day of December goes by, I will wish more and more that they could be finished school already so we could start the fun!  Their excitement is palpable.

We will bake together. We will decorate a gingerbread house and cookies.  We will put up the Christmas tree and drink apple cider, and sing Christmas carols.  We will make Christmas crafts and homemade gifts.  We will wrap presents together and giggle about shooing Dad out of the room so we can wrap his.

We will count the days together.

My youngest told me yesterday what his  #1 gift was on his list.  Then I asked him what if  Santa doesn’t bring that one?  What did he want as his second best gift  on his list?  He said, and I quote: “I really only want that gift.  It’s o.k Mom” he said, smiling sweetly, “If I don’t get that, then I will have my loving family with me and that will be my second best gift! ”   I tried not to laugh.  Second best, huh? Really.  He meant it in the best possible way of course!

I’ve used my ‘Young Deer with ornament”  image and colored him with copics.  The layout I used  is from the Sketch challenge on SCS.  I embellished it with a crinkled ribbon and added a punched oval sentiment . The dp is Kaiser Craft ‘dear santa’ and bazzil card stock.

This image and others hand drawn and digitized by me :),  are available at A Creative Need  and Squigglefly.

I am entering these challenges:

Color Create: red ,white, green

Forever Friends: animal

Simon Says Stamp: anything goes

The Paper Variety: show us your ornaments: deer is carrying an ornament

Thanks for stopping by and have a creative wonderful day! 

Deena

8 Comments

  1. fabulous festive card Deena, love the deer…thanks for joining in with the Colour Create challenge hope to see you next time too
    Mina xxx

    Like

  2. patricia says

    what a nice card thanks for joining us at ff challenge
    patricia

    Like

  3. This is a gorgeous Christmas card. That deer image is so cute. Love the ribbon too.

    Thanks for joining the Colour Create Challenge.
    Sharon xx

    Like

  4. Lizzie says

    What a lovely card !!! Thanks for joining us at Forever Friends.
    Liz

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous card.
    Love the colours and fabulous design.
    Thanks for playing along with us over at Colour Create.
    Sylvia

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

