Inspired Artisans Feature
Leave a Comment

Inspired Artisans: Christina’s Venicia Creations

Happy Friday!  I’d like to introduce Christina to our Inspired Artisans Friday feature!

Welcome Christina!

Tell us a little about yourself…

Hi there! My name is Christina and I’m the designer behind Venicia Creations. I’m a registered dietitian by day and a mommy to a very active three year old little boy. I’m married to a wonderful and supportive husband. My family is Italian so we all speak very loudly but have a great time together!

What handmade product do you to sell on Etsy and what is the name of your shop? 
Do you sell your work elsewhere?

In my shop Venicia Creations, I sell handmade jewelry (mostly necklaces and earrings) and some accessories (hairpins, rings, bookmarks, keychains). I love my jewelry very chunky and bold, with a lot of colors!
I also just signed up to sell at Luulla.com, so that is pretty new and will have my shop also on The Craftstar.

Can you share a few of your favourite items here with us? 

I just LOVE mustard yellow right now so this is one of my personal favorites, very simple and modern. It’s also one of my most popular items.
This one comes out of my newest collection. I have got about 20 more to list, all in different color schemes.
I made myself one of these lately and just wear it all the time! It’s the perfect necklace to cheer you up on a rainy day!

Who or what inspires you to create?

Being able to support my family through my creative pieces is one of the most fulfilling things I’ve experienced. So that is a big motivation. I also love knowing that someone out there in the world might be wearing one of my necklace right now! I’ve sold pieces to Belgium, the UK, Australia, Greece..I also just sent a bracelet to the Hollywood actress Jenny McCarthy. That is a great motivation to continue my creative work! But in the end, I have GOT to create. It’s like an itch, a vital need!  Whether it’s jewelry, scrapbook, sewing, painting, when I can’t create something from my own hands for a couple days, it’s like an itch I can’t scratch! I end up being irritable and my husband sends me to my work table! He knows that I will return to my normal self soon after! lol

Can you describe your creative process?

I’m inspired a lot by colors, as you can see in my shop. I read a lot of magazines and most of the times, my color inspirations comes from home decor ones. I love the mix of colors and textures and light! I then go to my work table where I can spend an hour just mixing different colors of beads until I find the perfect ones! When I create, I need to have all of my things near me, so I can see all my available options. That can cause problems because I do have a lot of beads (okay, a whole lot!) and I am currently living in a very small place so my organizational skills are always put to the test!

What advice might you give to other artisans or potential etsy sellers?

Just do it! It took me quite some time to take the plunge. I created some pieces, made draft listings and waited until the “right” moment arrived, where I would feel really ready to put myself out there. Well, that moment never came! There is never a right moment and you are never really ready for it. You just have to take the plunge and go with the flow! Also, another great business advice someone gave me is “if you want to have a business, you gotta treat Etsy like a business”, meaning you have to learn to be meticulous, organized, disciplined and you have to be willing to crunch those numbers!

Where else can we connect with you? Blog: Facebook:

Here is my Facebook page where you can know all about my creations, my newest collections and promotions: www.facebook.com/veniciacreations
You can also follow me on Wanelo: www.wanelo.com/veniciacreations

Thank you Christina!

Have a creative day, and a wonderful weekend! 

This entry was posted in: Inspired Artisans Feature

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

