CARDS
Comment 1

Inspired Artisans: Debi (The Purple Table)

Happy Friday everyone!  

I want to introduce and welcome Debi to our Inspired Artisans Friday Feature! 

Tell us a little about yourself… 

 I live with my three pug dogs in northern VA, right outside of the DC Metro area.  I’ve always been interested in Art and anything that would allow creative expression .  I’m usually the one that volunteers “I can make that for you”.  My interests are varied and include interior design, photography, painting, and papercrafts.

Last year my son who lives in Boston got engaged.  He and his fiance wanted to create some tile “save the dates” they had seen online and they wanted me to help make them.  While searching for supplies in the local craft store I re-discovered rubber stamps and my life hasn’t been the same since.  After that project, I made a guest book for their wedding, then some tags, then domino art, then one card, then another, and another…..you get the idea.

My rubber stamp collection/addiction has since grown to an enormeous size, so I opened my Etsy shop at the end of February to share some of the papergoods and gifts I enjoy creating using them.  

 

What type of handmade items do you sell in your shop? What is your Shop name?

My shop sells handmade papergoods and gifts;  greeting cards, gift tags, altered journals and magnet sets and key chains from repurposed dominoes.

The name of my Etsy shop is:   THE PURPLE TABLE

Do you sell your work elsewhere?

At this time only on Etsy.  This is a new venture for me.

Can you share a few of your favourite items here with us? 

Cherry Blossom Gift Tags.- Vintage inspired, made with rubber stamps and glitter pens, timeless and elegant
Dream Garden Fairy Card- this hits all my hot spots – romance, vintage, nature, and whimsy
Wizard of Oz Birthday Card – I love the simplicity of this card, yet it makes such a big statement.
Love of languages Magnet set – Made from repurposed dominoes, using alchol inks and rubber stamps
Martini Gift Tags – Reminds me of the Mad Men Era – A classy time I think

Who or what inspires you to create?

I think I have an eclectic style.  But I’m a pretty down to earth girl and a romantic at heart.  I love vintage, the whimsical, nature, and romance.  Most of my creations have bits of those in them.

Can you describe your creative process?

I don’t know that I follow any set of rules or process.  My best work often comes from total randomness.  I work on it till it “looks right” to me.  🙂    I do create for me — meaning what I create is something I would like to receive.

What advice might you give to other artisans or potential etsy sellers?

Create what you know and love.  It’s easy to promote something you enjoy and believe in.

Where else can we connect with you?

Hope to have a blog soon.  It’s on my to-do list

Thank you for sharing with us Debi! 

This entry was posted in: CARDS

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

1 Comment

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

