CARDS
Leave a Comment

Inspired Artisans: Andrea (PAPERNAUTS)

Hello! Happy Friday!

  Please help me in welcoming ANDREA as today’s INSPIRED ARTISTS Friday Feature guest!

WELCOME Andrea!

Tell us a little about yourself… 

 Hello there! My name is Andrea, I’m from Texas and I have been a teacher, a Soldier in the US Army, a postal carrier, and currently I’m studying my butt off to prepare for Pharmacy school. I just got married last month and when I’m not busy doing all those other things I love to make cards!

What handmade product do you to sell on Etsy and what is the name of your shop?

My shop is called Papernaut Cards, which was inspired by an amazing Threadless T-shirt I love:

http://www.threadless.com/product/2873/Papernauts

I am very passionate about astronomy and astrophysics (Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson is my hero) so the name just seemed to fit perfectly. I also wanted a big part of my shop to feature more quirky, off-beat, scientifically themed cards so I have a whole section listing titled “For Science!” Each of those cards is dedicated to an inspirational scientist and I try to incorporate pieces of their famous works or discoveries into the design.

Do you sell your work elsewhere?

Currently my cards are sold exclusively on Etsy, although I am interested in getting more involved in local craft fairs.

 Can you share a few of your favourite items here with us?

One of my favorite cards is Steampunk Pi! I’m a little obsessed with the number, I celebrate March 14th with Pi cupcakes and I can recite the number to 56 digits. I’m proud of this card because I actually drew the design myself. This is a great example of a unique Papernaut Card that you won’t find anywhere else.

 Who or what inspires you to create?

I owe a lot of credit to my mom, who was really into Stampin’ Up and started making her own Christmas and Birthday cards for friends every year. I inherited the crafting gene from her. For inspiration I rely pretty heavily on my hardcore nerdiness. We are so fortunate to live in a time where nerds and geeks have infiltrated so far into pop-culture there’s no shortage of amazing books, games, TV shows, and movies to provide material. For example, I also have a Portal 2 Turret Opera card inspired by the amazing song “Cara Mia Addio” played at the end.

Can you describe your creative process?

I don’t know how to answer this question without sounding like a tool. I make all my cards in my office / piano room / all-my-important-documents-piled-into-a-corner / room. I do have to be listening to music. I cannot create in silence!

What advice might you give to other artisans or potential etsy sellers?

Setting up an Etsy shop can be very overwhelming because there are so many different facets involved. I sort of took the plunge and then figured it all out as I went. That probably isn’t the best way to do it. I will say it is important to find a good team. Finding a team of like-minded people who will listen to you rant, provide advice, and boost your confidence on a bad day is imperative. Teams are an amazing support network built into the Etsy website. You’d be silly not to take advantage of it.

Where else can we connect with you?

I am on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. Come say hi!

http://www.facebook.com/PapernautCards

http://twitter.com/papernautcards

http://pinterest.com/

Thank you Andrea for sharing with us today! It is fascinating to learn about other artisans and their inspirations and a little about their lives too!  

Have a creative day all!!

Deena

This entry was posted in: CARDS

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

