3D PAPER PROJECTS
Leave a Comment

Inspired Artisans: AMY of ROSIE DOG ORIGAMI

WELCOME BACK  to another INSPIRED ARTISANS FRIDAY FEATURE!!  

Please help me in welcoming AMY FOLDER here to tell us a bit about her craft today!  

Tell us a little about yourself…

My name is Amy, and I am trying to sell origami.   At the moment, there’s not much more to it than that.

Well, there is a bit more to tell ;-D

I graduated college a couple of years ago with a degree in ceramics, and have been trying to find a job since (we all know how easy it is for artists to find a steady paycheck in this economy!). Ironically, however, after an unfortunate series of family hospital stays, I’ve found myself more interested in nursing as a career option. At the moment, I am in a sort-of limbo between my ceramics career and a future career as a nurse. That being said, I still have no income, so I live at home. I love my parents to death, but I think everyone needs something to keep them from going bonkers when living with their parents again. So, when I realized how much fun I was having making my mom origami flowers for Mother’s day (and how much cheaper this was compared to paying for studio fees, clay, etc.), it occurred to me that origami might be a good hobby for me. I posted a guide for making my Mother’s Day “bouquet” onto the Snapguide app on my iPod just for fun, thinking someone out there might need a cheap Mother’s Day gift too: it was an instant hit! I didn’t think anyone would actually like it, but within an hour I was bombarded with “notifications” about people “liking” my guide, and within 48 hours, my guide was on the featured page of the app. People loved the idea of an affordable birthday present that actually looked beautiful.

At this point, it occurred to me that I might be able to actually sell some of the origami I was making. I didn’t get into Etsy expecting to make much money at all, and indeed I haven’t, but it was one more thing to keep me busy. Having an Etsy shop is my way of keeping myself in check; it keeps me experimenting, creating and busy.

What handmade product do you to sell on Etsy and what is the name of your shop?  

My shop is named after my aging puppy, Rosie (Rosie Dog Origami), since she has kept me sane, too! She will be fourteen this year! I sell origami and cards with origami decorations, and I especially love to make “made-to-order” work.

Do you sell your work elsewhere?

Rosie Dog Origami exists only on Etsy at the moment, but that is more than OK with me. There is a great community within Etsy that has honestly surprised me, and it is fun just to be a part of such an innovative site.

Who or what inspires you to create?

I make origami because it is a creative outlet I can afford, and more importantly, because it is meditative and satisfying. The best part of it all? I’m not stuck in an art class being critiqued by twenty different people, who each have a completely different opinion about what I should do with my work. Don’t get me wrong, constructive criticism is essential for art, but I needed to create work for myself, and in order for that to happen, I guess I needed to step away from the art school mind-set of making work that is “good”‘; I needed art that was FUN to make, not stressful.

Can you share a few of your favourite items here with us?

I honestly like everything I have posted on Rosie Dog Origami- otherwise I wouldn’t have posted it. But there are a few items I am especially proud of:

My centerpiece: it is made-to-order, so you can have any color combination you like. I love it because I stumbled upon the shape accidentally, and it is really a fun little origami shape to make!

My star gift-box: I just think this one is pretty. It’s not custom, it’s literally one of a kind, and if I don’t say so myself, the craftsmanship is quite good for a small origami box.

And my most recent addition, my kusudama ball: After making so many of these little flowers, I decided to finally make a traditional kusudama ball out of some exciting new patterned paper. I am so happy with the way it turned out!

Where else can we connect with you?

I have a blog at http://rosiedogorigami.blogspot.com/,

Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rosie-Dog-Origami-Custom-Cards-and-Crafts/428298737203432

you can follow me on twitter @AmyFolder13,

or email me at unknownamy13@gmail.com!

I would love to hear from you! Please check out Rosie Dog Origami on Etsy, and support us Etsy crafters!!! It’s not as easy as it looks.

Thanks so much for sharing with us today Amy!!  Best of luck with your shop and creative pursuits!

Have a creative day everyone!!  Deena x 

This entry was posted in: 3D PAPER PROJECTS

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

