CARDS
Leave a Comment

Inspired Artisan: Anastasia of Percival Road Designs

WELCOME  to another INSPIRED ARTISANS FRIDAY FEATURE!!  Please help me in welcoming Anastasia, here to tell us a bit about her craft today!  

Hi Im Anastasia from Sydney Australia.  I  work part time in Finance so in my spare time I love to create and get as creative as I can!  Im a mum to two active boys and wife to a supportive guy, we live in a great city with beautiful beaches and lots of parks.

I got inspired to start making and creating things after discovering craft blogs and the whole blogging community!

What handmade product do you to sell on Etsy and what is the name of your shop? 

 The name of my Etsy shop is ‘Percival Road Designs’ and I make paper goods – collage style tags and cards, gift tags and toppers. I also make table decoration and favors for weddings and baby showers.

I started selling supplies like ribbon, tape and bakers twine – love all that!  I also have a flea market section for paper ephemera and vintage books.

Do you sell your work elsewhere? 

 I have my items stocked at a local shop here in Sydney and a couple of online shops that offer handmade gifts.

I hope to try and expand my wholesale stockists in the future!  I just need more time in the day!

Can you share a few of your favourite items here with us?

Most of my items are one-offs as I like to combine both vintage and new papers in my paper goods.  I made these flat note collage cards  by combining all different papers, mainly vintage papers in pink white and black – Each card is unique and super cute!   

With this ‘My Brother’card – the image is from a 1950s magazine and so I used a combination of fun but Retro inspired prints and colours to make what I think turned out to be a sweet card! 

Who or what inspires you to create? 

I get inspired by so many different things – nature, flowers, the seasons…vintage books and images, creative bloggers and people who take a dream and turn it into reality.  I also find Pinterest very inspiring and I love to get colour combination ideas from all the beautiful images.

Can you describe your creative process?

It always starts by playing with my papers both new and old  and my crafty supplies,– I try to keep everything organised so I know where to go when I need it otherwise too much clutter gets me bogged down.   I cut and paste a lot and the whole process is kind of organic in that I don’t really plan ahead.  Sometimes I get ideas popping in my head suddenly so I make sure I note it down or draw the design on a notepad for future reference.

What advice might you give to other artisans or potential etsy sellers?

Go for it!!! I was a little scared to open my Etsy shop because you are putting yourself out there – I did many craft swaps before jumping in which was fun anyway and a great way to meet other crafters but if you love creating then you need to go for it!

Also when selling online I think photos needs to pop off the screen – I keep tweaking mine and still can always find ways to improve them!  When selling online on a site like Etsy you have a few seconds to capture someone’s attention so beautiful pictures are key!!

Where else can we connect with you? 

Etsy shop

Blog

Pinterest

Twitter

Thanks so much for sharing with us today Anastasia!!  

Have a creative day everyone!!  

Deena x 

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

