A Creative Need, Art
Comments 2

The Art of being an Apprentice: My Letter to Vincent Van Gogh

Dear Vincent,  thank you for the great pleasure of becoming your apprentice!  I hope I do not disappoint you with my humble but sincere efforts at learning from my limited but enthusiastic view of your life’s work.  Though I think you would be happy to know that I am learning to silence the negative voices…

“If you hear a voice within you say you cannot paint, then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.” Vincent Van Gogh

I regret that you will never know how much you have inspired me, and that you will never know that I am but one drop in an ocean of inspired, admiring souls!

“If I am worth anything later, I am worth something now. For wheat is wheat, even if people think it is a grass in the beginning.” Vincent Van Gogh

“…But, the sunflower is mine, in a way.”

Vincent van Gogh

800px-Vincent_van_Gogh_-_Sunflowers_(Metropolitan_Museum_of_Art)

Yes, Vincent, the sunflowers are most certainly yours! It makes my heart smile to think that your lovely sunflowers have become near synonymous with your name!

It is with no mild timidity that I share my first Van Gogh inspired pastel drawing. I practised mark making and enjoyed learning about Van Gogh’s life and work, through his letters and paintings.  I stared and thought about, and walked away and went back to,  “Woman Grinding Coffee”  many times before attempting to ‘copy’ his work.  A  poor copy it is, I know, but still, more important than the end result perhaps, is how it made me feel during the process…my mind was quiet and my heart was happy and my fingers moved as if sure of what they needed to do.  So, there it is. A piece of me went into it and I can say, I see it’s worth!

 15683331793_127a86d23c_o

Pencil, pastels

Your appreciative apprentice,

Deena

Woman-Grinding-Coffee Vincent Van Gogh

2 Comments

  1. peggy elms says

    Oooh, you are so talented and brave my friend. I knew I would become your friend since day one, even though we had first met. Your reserve is charming, your sweetness is real and my oh my your talent is forever evolving. But you know, it’s your subtle way of being funny that makes me want to visit soon, very soon I hope. I know Vincent would have just love to spend time with us and chat over some hot coffee. Well, maybe not for he was quite timid, but it’s always fun to imagine scenes when you’re a writer. Hugs to you Deena,xo

    Like

  2. Excellent Deena, absolutely excellent work.. Well done, you are great! Are you sure you are not a con artist??…hahaha…
    Glo.xx

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

