A Creative Need, Art, Mixed Media
Comment 1

Character Building Excercises

I have a confession to make…I have a hard time letting go, loosening up, relaxing my control over things.  I don’t need to be in control of everything,  in fact I often like to give up control to others simply so I won’t have to folow my own rigid rules! But the things that I am in control of usually need to follow my self appointed rules and regulations.  I put a lot of pressure on myself. I often place unreasonable expectations and unnecessary limitations on how I do things. Unfortunately, it can be paralyzing.  I am working on it. Really.

The Stranger InsideSo, with my art work, I have held myself back in many ways because of this mysterious  list of ‘rules’ that I’ve created.  Anyone else feel like this?  Where did all these rules come from?  They have accumulated as my life has moved along, and I didn’t realize how demanding they had become. I want , no, need to break some rules! I want to unlock  the art that I see in my mind and allow it to spill out and spread all over my everyday life! I need  to allow it room to grow, run free and become whatever it wants to be.

In a conscious effort to do this I am practicing new art methods and pushing myself out of my comfort zone to see what might come of it. I am taking  free classes when time permits and some worthy paid for workshops too.  I face each one without any rules except one- make art!  I am breaking my rules and facing my fears and guess what??  I feel set free!!

1 Comment

  1. Well, my dear friend, your words are well expressed in that portrait (rigid mouth, and strong fixed eyes gaze) so you are already expressing your feelings very well in your art, as we all do when it really comes from within… Rules are there to be broken, and if they are your rules is even easier…xxx

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!

