3D PAPER PROJECTS, TUTORIALS
Comments 9

Gift Card Purse Tutorial

Here it is for all of you who asked…thanks so much for all the lovely comments I received on these gift card holders!! You are the best!!!

Materials:

  • Card stock (sturdy for base)  8.5″ x 4.5″
  • Card stock (inside holder) 4.25″ X 4.25″
  • Decorative paper  4.5″ x 4.5″
  • Labels One Die cut Nestabilities Largest, and second largest (Or similar die cuts)
  • Classic Scallop Circles Nestabilities die or any 3.5″  diameter scallop circle
  • Slot punch
  • ribbon
  • two eyelets
  • one adhesive foam dot
  • bead or button, or a jewelry finding

DIRECTIONS:

1. Fold base Card stock in half and use the largest Labels One nestabilities die or similar shape to cut out the purse body.  Make sure to place the die cutting edge just above the fold so not to cut this part. Only the sides and botttom should be shaped and the top fold is untouched after cutting.

2. Cut out another Labels One  shape in the same size as the base from the single sheet of decorative paper. Adhere to purse front.

3.Cut out another Labels one shape in one size smaller than the purse base from the card stock.  Punch the slots using slot punch 1″ up from bottom , approximately 1/4″ in from the sides.  Add a  double sided adhesive foam dot centered 1″ down from the top .  Leave the protective paper on the dot until ready to place gift card.

4. Cut circle, fold in half without creasing.   Attach eyelets just below the fold at the outer corners.  Add the ribbon handle by feeding through the eyelets and knotting.

5. Adhere the back half of circle to the back of base.  Adhere the front center only of the circle to front of base. Add a bead or button or jewelry finding for the front closure.

IMG_8383 Sultry Purse 2 w 30

IMG_8396 Handbag gift card insert w 30

I didn’t make a picture tutorial this time, since the steps are pretty self explanatory.

If you do have any questions, ask away, I’m happy to help if I can!

This entry was posted in: 3D PAPER PROJECTS, TUTORIALS

by

Thanks for visiting! I have always needed to express my creativity, and I am the happiest when I do so. My blog is a way to challenge myself creatively, keep me motivated and inspired, to explore new ideas, and to share them with others! I feel the need to express myself in new ways...I hope you'll join me!

9 Comments

  1. Deena says

    Fabulous! I’m so glad you tried them and liked them! Do you have a link/pic, I’d love to see yours!
    Smiles,Deena

    Like

  2. Pamelamma says

    I just used your directions and made a couple of these. They’re ADORABLE! Just LOVE them! Thanks.

    Like

Thanks for sharing your comments! I always enjoy hearing from you!